‘A Star Is Born’ – Review (SPOILER FREE)

My rating: 5/5 (YES!!)

A Star Is Born was released in UK cinemas on October 5th, and after hearing the rave reviews from critics and of course out of my own excitement and anticipation, went to go check it out for myself!

The screening I attended was packed, and because of this it is a better way to gauge audience reaction. From start to finish I had a smile (and a few tears!) on my face, something that is unavoidable when you witness chemistry as natural and palpable as Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga’s onscreen.

This film is Bradley’s directorial debut, and I must say I am so impressed by how scenes played out and the very real route that the story took. Bradley’s role as Jackson was raw and realistic, as was Gaga’s take on Ally – making their characters fit comfortably together and not at all forced. I have seen and read in many interviews that they both hit it off before filming, bonding over Gaga’s leftover Pasta!

The soundtrack I imagine definitely had to be strong as this was a major feature of the film, Jackson already an established musician and Ally overcoming hurdles to rise up and receive fame after being discovered…and it certainly was! As the story progresses, you see that each song (all original and written by Bradley and Gaga) connects the plot with each new emotion. Considering Bradley had lessons with Guitar and vocal training prior to production starting, I really love how raspy and just plain cool his singing voice is, and coupled with the country twang, was reminiscent of John Denver in my mind. Lady Gaga as we know has a bloody amazing voice, so when complimented with Bradley’s sounds the perfect match and works very very well.

 

 

I give A Star Is Born a 5/5 rating, because of how well every component worked and the impressiveness of the acting with relation to real-life issues such as alcoholism, addiction, and dealing with the rise to fame in the music industry. Wonderfully poignant.

 

Bravo Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga, certainly Oscar-worthy!

 

 

5 comments

      1. and in particular I found one sentence very helpful – that it is nobody’s fault but only the fault of him who committed suicide. I wish someone would have told tme this 25 years ago.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.