Lucy Collier: “Celebrities work are made to entertain us, not their personal lives…”

Lucy at the entrance of 'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire'premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Lucy at the entrance of ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Lucy Collier, 17, won a competition last year to interview the cast of ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ last year, and here she discusses her experience & support for her three role models Kristen Stewart, Jennifer Lawrence and Taylor Swift.

You won Yahoo! Movies ‘Biggest Fan’ competition to interview the cast of the ‘Mockingjay’ at the  ‘Catching Fire’ premiere last year, can you explain what your experience was like meeting actors such as Jennifer Lawrence and Josh Hutcherson?

I’ve always wanted to be a reporter and I finally got to do it at The Hunger Games : Catching Fire world premiere. When I arrived I was nervous but I knew a lot of fans who were there and managed to talk and interview them first. By the time I got to interview the film cast I was surprisingly calm, looking back at the interview I look confident even though I was speaking some of Hollywood’s biggest stars. All of the cast were lovely and I felt as though I was speaking to friends rather than well known actors and actresses. Jennifer Lawrence was as genuine and hilarious as we all believe. 
Interviewing Jennifer Lawrence at 'The Hunger Games: Catching Fire' premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Interviewing Jennifer Lawrence at ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

As you are a huge movie fan, who else have you met over the years at a premiere? and most memorable moment?

I’ve met a lot of actors and actresses from franchise films such as Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart from the Twilight Saga, they were both very calm and caring when meeting their fans. One of my favourite memories will always be the Catching Fire premiere because I was able to experience it from a point of view of a reporter and that is one of the jobs I have always aspired to do. 
My favourite moment would be meeting Jennifer at the Catching Fire premiere because the first thing she said when she came over was ‘WHO’S LOST THEIR SHOES?!’ whilst turning around urgently looking for someone with no shoes. They were a pair of flat shoes I had on the floor because I was wearing heels whilst doing the interview because as some say, I’m vertically challenged. After saying it was a smart idea Jennifer and I went on to joke about me ‘buying her hair on eBay’ whilst showing her a pair of bleach blonde hair extensions, some viewers of the interview actually believed that I had indeed brought her hair in ebay which is quite strange. 
Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart at 'The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1' premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Robert Pattinson and Kristen Stewart at ‘The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 1’ premiere (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Twitter is of course a huge part of people’s lives today . As a user of the social media platform, what do you feel are the advantages of being part of an online community involving fans of something in particular?

Social media has become something that many young people rely on and using it daily has become normal to them. They’re able to express them selves in different ways and meet new people who have the same interests as them who they most likely never would have met had it not have been for social media. Over the years I’ve met so many lovely people from all across the world who share the same interests as me and many of them have become some of my closest friends. 

What was the first film premiere you ever went to? Why is going to an event of this type enjoyable?

The first ever film premiere I went to was the Twilight Saga : Breaking Dawn Part 1 at the Westfield Shopping Centre in 2011. I had no idea what to expect when I arrived but I joined the queue like the rest of the people who were going. Although we had to queue through the freezing cold November weather as it got closer to the start of the premiere the adrenaline kicked in and the cold wasn’t a problem anymore. Being able to meet someone who’s work you love and having the chance to thank them for it is what I like best about the experience. Having that short period of time to show your appreciation for their work definitely makes the experience worthwhile.

A group photo on the film set of 'Catching Fire' in Atlanta, Georgia. (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

A group photo on the film set of ‘Catching Fire’ in Atlanta, Georgia. (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

‘Fandom’ is a term used to describe a group of people being fans of a film, a public figure, etc…          Is it fun being part of a ‘fandom’? any down-sides that you feel there are?

The positives definitely outweigh the negatives of being part of a ‘fandom’. You’re able to express and communicate your shared interest with someone who feels the same way. Most people in a ‘fandom’ choose to take to social media to express their interest because their group of friends who they see on a daily basis may not share that same interest. Some of the negatives would be when people have differing opinions and they feel as though the other person’s opinion is wrong and may argue. However it is easy to leave situations like these by unfollowing/unfriending or blocking this person. Over the years I’ve met quite a lot of people who are battling with things such as bullying and health issues and using social media as a way to communicate with those who understand what they are going through has comforted them far more than anything else. 

How do you feel about the topic of privacy with regards to the recent ‘nude leaks’? Do famous people deserve to have a private life like everybody else? or not….

Even though celebrities are well known by many across the globe they are still normal people. Their occupation should not decide the level of privacy they have. They should be able to do what they like without having it exposed to the world. The ‘nude leak’ is a topic that angers me because this is a perfect example of an action (taking a personal photo) that most likely many people across the world do daily, but just because of the celebrities’ occupation and status people believe that it is okay to hack into someone’s personal details to display private images across the Internet. Celebrities’ work such as films and music is what is made to entertain us, not their personal lives. 

There have been numerous movie franchises over the last couple of years, do you like the idea of some of the books (if they are adapted to onscreen) being split into two parts, or would rather they are kept as one whole entity?

The experience of seeing a franchise from start to finish is enjoyable and bittersweet. Along the way you meet so many people who are experiencing it too and when it comes close to the end you don’t want it to ever finish. So sometimes it’s good when final books in a franchise are split into two because it makes it last longer. However I feel that the final book of the series has to have enough depth otherwise some of the films may be seen as ‘fillers’ because the film does not add enough depth to the storyline.
With Taylor Swift, promoting her album '1989'. (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

With Taylor Swift, promoting her album ‘1989’. (Courtesy of Lucy Collier)

Who are your role models? and why this person?
I look up to women like Kristen Stewart, Jennifer Lawrence and Taylor Swift because they all stand for what they believe in. Even if some of the media manipulates their actions to create sensational stories for their magazines and websites, these women are still so young and have accomplished so much already. I have been fortunate enough to meet them all several times and they have all been caring and down to earth, unlike other celebrities who have definitely let the fame get to their heads. They’re my role models because they work through every issue they come across and come out success.
What are your top 5 favourite films?
1. ‘The Hunger Games’ : Catching Fire (I think I’m slightly bias on this one because of the incredible experience I had at the premiere and when I was on the set of the film in Atlanta) 
2. ‘Twilight’ (The first franchise I was interested in)
3. ‘Endless Love’ (Cheesy love films are the best) 
4. ‘Confessions of A Shopaholic’ (Cheesy love films with lots of shopping are even better)
5. ‘The Little Mermaid’ (Disney never fails to put a smile on anyone’s face) 

If you could pick between films and books to have for the rest of your life…which would it be?

This is a really tricky question. It’s books that have brought my attention to certain films, although I love to see the storyline with my eyes as well as in my mind. I’d probably have to say films because although they may not go into as much depth as books, I can watch films quicker than I can read so I can see more of them! 

Follow Lucy here:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SupportingRandK

Watch Lucy interview the cast:

https://uk.movies.yahoo.com/video/jennifer-lawrence-quizzes-hunger-games-161642231.html

Leave a Reply

