Kayla Hunt on Paris Hilton, “She is one of the most kind-hearted and genuine people I know…”

Kayla Hunt, Hilton's "South African sister"

Kayla Hunt, Hilton’s “South African sister” (Image: courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

Kayla Hunt has done a lot of work with Paris Hilton over the years and tells me about meeting Miss Hilton and the memorable experiences she has had….

It is known that you do a lot of work with Paris Hilton, can you talk about how it all began and what it was like when you first met her?

Paris and my friendship actually started in a very unusual way..l have been a huge fan of her since I was 7 years old, I loved collecting pictures of her in the magazines and newspapers & have two books filled with pictures of her. When I was 14 years old, I found an account on FB which I thought might be the real Paris Hilton. I sent a message just to try my luck and see if she would respond, I told her I was a huge fan of her and really admired her. She actually responded and we became friends on FB. We chatted on there for a while, obviously I was a bit wary because there are some weird people who make fake accounts on FB. She eventually gave me her personal email address as she stopped using the Facebook and from that I could see it was the real Paris Hilton. She also said she wanted to send me a box of gifts from her line and when they arrived it was quite overwhelming to think she had taken the time to personalize each and every item for me and send me photographs with messages. Paris also has phoned me every year for my birthday and we chat often over email and BBM. 2010 was the year I met Paris for the first time, by then we had been chatting for basically 2 years and we always spoke about the time we would finally meet! The most special thing for me about meeting her was when she walked off the plane. The first thing she did when she got off her plane was run up to me and say she was so happy to finally meet me. It is a moment I will cherish for the rest of my life. After that my sister and I got on a bus with her and her entourage, then we headed to the Nelson Mandela Stadium where I got to go into a suit with her and spend the day there and watch the soccer game. The whole experience was overwhelming but beyond amazing and I couldn’t believe I was actually spending the day with her. She made me feel so welcome, introducing me to all her friends that were there like Leonardo DiCaprio. We have now been in contact for 6 years, she has become a really great friend of mine. Paris calls me her little South African sister and she is definitely like a big sister to me as well. 

image (3)

Posts from Paris’ Twitter account and Instagram about their meeting. (Image: Courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

Paris has given you gifts in the past, it seems that she genuinely appreciates her fans and the support that is bestowed upon her….what were the presents and how did it feel when you received them?

I have got so many gifts from Paris it is actually crazy how she has blessed me. The best gift is the friendship we have to be honest. Other gifts she has given me is products from her line such as her perfumes, watches, a book, movies, handbags, purses, clothing, signed photographs, scrap booking line things, there is just so much. When we met in 2010 she also gave me a MacBook – I was blown away because at that stage I would’ve never thought I could own one of those! 

One of many Birthday messages

One of many Birthday messages (Image: Courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

Critics have often said that Paris embodies the whole ‘famous for being famous’ label, so what are your thoughts on how the media generally portrays Paris as a person? are they unfair?

I personally think the media portray Paris in a very unfair way. Paris is one of the most kind- hearted, genuine, down-to-earth and giving people I know and I often find that the media like to focus on the negative things. They should focus on the amazing empire and brand she has created and the huge success she is making of her life. There are many celebrities out there in the spotlight like her but it’s hard to find ones like Paris who are making such a success. I love that Paris tries anything and she has the ability to make it a huge success. If we just look at her DJ residency now in Ibiza, there were so many haters when she first started but they didn’t stop her from the huge success it is now. She is on such high demand there that they want her back for another month. 

Her DJ residency at the 'Amnesia' Club in Ibiza

Her DJ residency at the ‘Amnesia’ Club in Ibiza (Image: Courtesy of AFP)

The film ‘The Bling Ring’ is based on a teenage burglary ring who targeted famous A-listers homes in Hollywood, one of them being Paris’ home (they even filmed in parts of her house), do you think that there is too much of an obsession with ‘celebrity’ and people wanting to be ‘famous’, or rather, infamous?

I think that for celebrities being a celebrity is a very hard thing actually. If you want to be famous you have to be able to handle what comes with it and that is not something everyone can handle. Being a celebrity means you’ve got to be able to handle being harshly criticised if how you appear is not perfect or what you do is not perfect. I think it’s sad that the media has created an image of what perfect is and if anybody, celebs in particular, do not fit according to this, they get this harsh criticism. I like to look at celebrities as normal people though who go through the same things as we do, people who have good and bad days & are aware of their flaws as well.

A show that really made Paris a household name was the reality show ‘The Simple Life’ (2003), in which she appeared in it alongside best friend Nicole Richie. What did you enjoy most about the show? Any particular episode? 

Oh I absolutely love ‘The Simple Life’. There are so many moments in the shows that I love & I still watch them. I love that the show is so funny that it literally makes me laugh out loud. Who could ever forget Silly & Billy  and the SANA SA song! Haha! I’m really hoping that they could maybe make one more season which they could do as like a reunion.

Is it exciting seeing Paris’ newest business ventures and her fashion lines? etc….

I am so proud of Paris and her business ventures, as well as her fashion lines. Like I said she always is able to make a success out of what she does! She is really an inspiration to me to see that I can do things if I put my mind to it, no matter the haters and also that anything is possible if you believe in yourself.

image

Posted from Paris’ Instagram account. Birthday message for Kayla. (Image: courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

What are your hobbies? The most favourite thing that you enjoy doing?

Spending time with my family and friends is my favourite thing to do. I also love working with children and do holiday clubs for them.

Living in South Africa, what do you love about the country? any places you recommend tourists visit?

South Africa is a very beautiful and diverse country with so many things to see. The wildlife is amazing, no we do not have lions walking on our roads, but there are many game reserves for tourists to go and see! We have many blue flag beaches and the amazing table mountain. We have Cape Town which is voted the number 1 tourist spot, if I’m not mistaken. The night life is lots of fun & there are awesome theme parks like ‘Gold Reef City’ and ‘Ratanga Junction’ which have epic roller coasters. 

Cape Town, South Africa

Cape Town, South Africa

If you were to only have 3 CDs for the rest of your life, what 3 would they be and why?

This is a very difficult question to answer, music is one of my passions and I listen to such a variety that it is so hard to just choose three.

Where in the world would you travel to if you had the opportunity to go?

Travelling is another passion of mine. I want to go and see the world and can’t wait to have the opportunities to do so. I would love to see places like LA, Ibiza, New York, London, Las Vegas, Miami, Dubai, Bora Bora, Rome….. the list goes on. Actually, I wouldn’t mind visiting every single place in the world to say I have been there

What are your aims for the future? any area of work you would like to go into?

I’m currently studying Intermediate Maths and Science teaching. I’ve always had a passion to work with children and make a difference in their lives. I want to one day start a school for underprivileged children so that they can realise their full potential. I see teaching as a very important job because you’re responsible for the future generation of Engineers, Doctors, Designers etc.

(Image: Courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

(Image: Courtesy of Kayla Hunt)

To keep up to date with Kayla, follow her here:

TWITTER:

INSTAGRAM:

http://instagram.com/misskaylahunt

Leave a Reply

