An interview with Tara Palmer-Tomkinson

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

Tara Palmer-Tomkinson: Television Presenter, Columnist, Model & Charity Patron.  (Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

 

You’re often remembered for your bold fashion choices, and at the wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge you wore a memorable blue ensemble accompanied with a matching hat, gloves and shoes. What inspires you to make the choices that you do when it comes to attending a particular event?

For my outfit for the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge’s wedding, I wanted to go for an electric blue colour scheme with a Forties feel, combined with a ‘Mars Attacks’ futuristic avatar experience. This style was very much encouraged by designers Philip Treacy and Deborah Milner.

 

With summer upon us, what clothes and accessories can you recommend that are ideal for this period?

For the summer season, I would really encourage people to accessorise the outfits that they already have. I would accessorise a one-piece swimsuit with a Melissa Odabash tunic or a great turquoise necklace and definitely a Philip Treacy floppy hat.

 

Do you have a certain beauty regime that you keep to? If so, can you talk about what it entails?

 Definitely NuSkin, which is a mixture of supplements and a skincare regime ruled by a galvanic spa treatment, which I live by.

 

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

What are your views on the fashion industry today? Do you feel there is too much of an emphasis on models needing to be thin/’size zero’?

I think that the emphasis on models needing to be thin and size zero fluctuates, much like people’s weight. I don’t ever look at weight; Azzedine Alaïa would rule my fashion industry yesterday, today and tomorrow because his figure-defining garments are timeless, classic and wearable with lots of different pieces.

 

Is there an era where there are elements of the fashion from that time which you would love to come back?

The Sixties, definitely. I love the whole ‘mod look’ with black and white and lots of block colour.

 

When you travel abroad, what are the holiday essentials that you always bring with you?

The holiday essentials that I travel with abroad are kept in my homes abroad and they are pieces which I buy abroad ie. a sarong on the beach in Bali. I like to support the culture of where I am and in Marrakech or Dubai I would abide by the essential cultural rules ie. length, colour, shoulders not showing.

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

 

What are your thoughts on artists like Lady Gaga who are recognised for their work involving the combination of fashion and music?

I don’t really have any. My thoughts tend to be more about her music than what she wears. I don’t really get inspired by artists for their fashion; I get inspired by fashion artists for their fashion, musicians for their music and artists for their culture.

A fashion icon to me would be Holly Golightly in ‘Breakfast at Tiffany’s’ or Jackie Kennedy in her time.

 

Which designers are your favourite? And why?

Firstly, Azzedine Alaïa because, as I said earlier, the pieces are timeless, classic and although they are expensive they last for years and years.

Secondly, Helmut Lang because they are essentially the best trousers in the world.

Thirdly, my mother’s Yves Saint Laurent Rive Gauche wardrobe.

 

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

 

Are there any trends today that you do not understand all the hype around? Why?

Yes, I don’t understand the hype around maxi dresses or shapeless items. Or rips in anybody’s trousers although I must say I do have some of those!

Do you look back at any past events that you have been to and regret what you wore?

How long is a piece of string?(!) I have lots of regrets – I once went to my own party in a bikini and a snorkel! But it is always good to look forward and not dwell on the past.

If you were to be stuck on an island, what 4 things would you want to have with you and why?

Well, I would definitely have my passport to get me out of there! And this would definitely be in my pink leather initialled Smythson holder.

I would also have a Melissa Odabash bikini because I’m on an island and may as well. This would also have to go with a Philip Treacy hat because you’ve got to block the sun from your face.

The last one would be my NuSkin galvanic spa because it works without batteries and takes all the impurities out of your skin. Fashion definitely starts at having a really good foundation, which means healthy body and healthy skin.

 

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

(Courtesy of Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, Amanda Gegg)

Leave a Reply

