Conversation with a ‘Walking Dead’ fan

Megan Wyszynski ( @megdoubleyou ) is a major fan of the television series ‘The Walking Dead’, I wanted to ask her more about her thoughts on the series and what initially drew her to it….

Canadian superfan, Megan Wyszynski

Canadian superfan, Megan Wyszynski (courtesy of Megan Wyszynski)

What attracted you to watching ‘The Walking Dead’?

I grew up around boys, so I was always exposed to entertainment filled with more violence, fear and artillery. i.e. cap-gun wars and Bruce Lee movie marathons. I remember seeing the first Walking Dead promo and being drawn from instantly. It had everything I liked and was used to watching.

Do you feel each season has been consistently great in terms of story lines and keeping the audience entertained – drawn towards the series?

I’ve always been drawn to the newest season/episode of TWD. However, Seasons 1,2 and 4 have been my favourites so far.  I love all the new story lines that are currently coming into play this season. I cannot wait for Sunday! 

Who is your favourite character in the show (alive or dead)? why?

Hands-down my favourite character is Daryl Dixon.  I love his rugged and tortured, yet caring soul. He reminds me of myself in those ways. He also says what he means and that’s a trait I highly value and encourage.  Also, to be honest, Daryl is quite the eye-candy (especially when covered in mud and guts).

480px-Daryl-Dixon-daryl-dixon-27182982-640-640

Daryl Dixon, played by Norman Reedus

Are there any characters who you don’t like (alive or dead)? Why?

I admit I love/hate the Governor. Dave Morrissey did a fabulous job portraying him, and I loved how corrupt and ruthless he was… but the guy was a complete jerk. 

The Governor, played by David Morrissey (courtesy of blastr.com)

The Governor, played by David Morrissey (courtesy of blastr.com)

What do you think of the cast in general? Have you met any of them at the conventions held?

I absolutely adore the cast! They seem very dedicated to their craft and to their fans. I’ve met Scott Wilson (Hershel) and Norman Reedus (Daryl). Both meetings were a tremendous honour and both actors are true gentlemen. 

Megan meeting Norman at a convention (courtesy of Megan Wyszynski)

Megan meeting Norman at a convention (courtesy of Megan Wyszynski)

 image

 

 

Can you share with us your experience of a convention?

I have never been more proud to be a nerdy girl than at a convention! The energy of all those in attendance is captivating. At Ottawa Pop Expo in December 2013, I had the time of my life. I made many friendships and got to meet some amazing actors. The line-ups were long, but the rewards were worth it. It was exciting to be surrounded by like-minded people who were just as excited as I was.  It was a strange feeling, however, to meet people that I watched every Sunday in my living room while wearing my pyjamas. I felt like they were already my friends. 

Pucker up! ...Megan with Norman Reedus during a photo opportunity

Pucker up! …Megan with Norman Reedus during a photo opportunity (courtesy of Megan Wyszynski)

Is there a particular direction you would like to see any of the plots in the show to go?

I would love to see more back-stories of Michonne, Daryl and Glenn. I like when we get to see glimpses of the past.  

With regards to social media, what is it like interacting with other fans of the show? – and even the actors themselves?

It is awesome to interact with other fans and the actors. Other fans on social media sites tend to respect and share my point of view on TWD fandom, whereas friends in my real life tend to not always agree with me. Also, it’s nice not having to explain my love of TWD to other fans because they love the show just as much as I do. Interacting with the actors is just amazing. I remember when Norman Reedus started following me on twitter: I screamed and rolled around on my floor I was so happy.  So many of the actors are active on social media, it makes being a fan much more fun. 

Season 5 is soon to be filmed, are you excited about that?

I am extremely excited about season 5. My older brother reads the comic books, so he has teased some awesome plots that have yet to surface. Maybe we will see these in Season 5?

(courtesy of minus.com)

(courtesy of minus.com)

 You live in Canada, what do you love most about the country?

Living in Canada is great! I love that I get to enjoy all four seasons here. I get to swim and snowboard all within the same area.  The pet moose and igloos are just bonuses.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

I would like to go to Asia. My great-grandmother was Mongolian, so I’d like to see some of my heritage.

Name 5 celebrities you would like to have on your zombie apocalypse team, and what would be your survival technique?

Sean Patrick Flanery, Harrison Ford, Natalie Portman, Norman Reedus and Liam Neeson. I’d probably find an island with a cottage somewhere then set up a perimeter of safety. I’d spend my days by a campfire and maybe take up playing spoons or something. 

sean-patrick-flanery-dexter Harrison-Ford1 SexyDesktop Wallpaper Image Norman-Reedus_1

liam-neeson-at-event-of-battleship

(from left to right: Sean Patrick Flanery, Harrison Ford, Natalie Portman, Norman Reedus & Liam Neeson)

One comment

  1. Huh. Pretty cool that she got to meet some of the actors. A lot of folks I know seem to like Daryl not just for the reasons given, but the crossbow. Crossbows seem to be ‘in,’ right now. It almost makes me wonder whether the comic book would invent character similar enough to Daryl- or heck, just putting Daryl in it- but given the current arc, his introduction would feel a bit out of place, I think.

Leave a Reply

