Billie Joe + Norah – ‘foreverly’


My Rating: 9/10

Lead singer and guitarist of Green Day Billie Joe Armstrong and pop/Jazz singer songwriter Norah Jones took a risk and decided to collaborate and do their take on the Everly Brothers 1958 album Songs Our Daddy Taught Us, naming the album ‘foreverly’.

everly brothers

The Everly Brothers

Now, it may come across as an unlikely pairing but with regards to this twosome, the result of it has been a success! When I first heard about the idea of Billie Joe and Norah getting together, I had not an inkling of what this duo would sound like. So when I first decided to check out the album when it was posted onto YouTube, I was pleasantly surprised at how wonderfully their voices fit together.

I know many Green Day fans were not impressed by the decision Billie Joe (I am a huge fan of his too) had made to step across into their genre unlike the usual punk/rock/pop that the band is best known for. But how I see it is that this project is nothing to do with Green Day and fans of him or the band should be happy with the path he takes! He has been known to do various side projects before, so this is no different. As for Norah Jones, I have always been a fan of her music as well and the fact two of these very different musicians have collaborated is like a dream come true.


In an interview, Billie Joe explains how he had come across the original record a few years ago and immediately fell in love with it. And then the idea came that he wanted to do covers of songs from the album but along with a female voice as it would a different meaning to the song. The first person that came to mind was Norah Jones…and the rest is history! Billie Joe and Norah said that they wanted to cover the songs the same way as the Everly Brothers did as it was “so stripped down” and “listened to no other arrangement” of the songs.

The album was released on November 25th 2013 and debuted at number 40 on the Billboard 200 chart, and number 63 in the UK’s Official Album’s Chart.

I recommend this album to anybody who likes easy listening music, and it is perfectly suited for listening to while going for a Summer drive with windows open wide!


Track Listing:

  • Roving Gambler
  • Long Time Gone
  • Lightning Express
  • Silver Haired Daddy of Mine
  • Down in the Willow Garden
  • Who’s Gonna Shoe Your Pretty Little Feet?
  • Oh So Many Years
  • Barbara Allen
  • Rockin’ Alone (In An Old Rockin’ Chair)
  • I’m Here to Get My Baby Out of Jail
  • Kentucky
  • Put My Little Shoes Away

If you want to hear more about the project, check out these links:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s