Brandon Lee in ‘The Crow’

Image

My rating: 10/10

It suddenly occurred to me today, that I had not in fact seen The Crow at all yet. My parents always were fans of Brandon Lee (as well as his father, Bruce Lee – of course) and had not failed to tell me about how Brandon tragically died as I grew up.

So, I thought now would be the best time to finally watch it and put my curiosities to rest. This way I could finally make a decision on whether it lived up to all the hype that had been surrounding the film – and guess what, I bloody LOVED it!

Directed by Alex Proyas (best known for directing I,Robot), a basic summary of the Gothic – horror film would be that Eric Draven (played by Lee) and his fiancee Shelly Webster are brutally murdered by a gang on ‘Devil’s Night’ in Detroit, the night before they were due to be married – on Halloween. Then a year later as a result of a Crow having tapped on his gravestone, he comes back to life and is on a mission to take revenge by killing every member of the gang. Yes, that’s right, bloody bloody revenge! At the end of the film, we see Eric resting against Shelly’s grave where he is reunited with her once his supernatural powers had finally been taken away (the Crow was killed).

Image

Brandon Lee as Eric Draven/The Crow

Having seen Brandon Lee perform for the first time on screen, I must say, he was successful in coming across as menacing and indeed a very good actor. I have never been one for action films, or just anything based on comic books – but this was a whole new level of amazing! The story line was gripping and over all I found it to be really sad because of the wanting to reunite with a dead loved one and seeking revenge.

As I mentioned earlier, my parents always brought up that Brandon had died tragically at the age of 28 when the film was being shot in March 31st 1993 – from a gun shot wound. This accident happened on set when a blank cartridge was fired from a gun but in which a bullet of a real cartridge was lodged. This bullet hit Brandon, resulting in him being taken to hospital but after unsuccessful attempts to save him, it was too late.

I recommend this film to anybody who enjoys watching dark, horror movies and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Image

Leave a Reply

