So, I decided to try out ‘The Dark Knight’….

Image

 My rating: 10/10

I decided to watch The Dark Knight for the first time during the Christmas holidays as I am going through a phase of watching all of Heath Ledger’s work. Having bought the first two films in The Dark Knight Trilogy (Blu-ray) as part of an offer in HMV I was pretty excited to start watching it and see what all the fuss was about. I wasn’t sure whether I would enjoy it seeing as I don’t particularly like action films, especially Marvel comic movies.

Directed by Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight Trilogy , Inception) the cast includes Christian Bale, Michael Caine, Heath Ledger, Gary Oldman, Aaron Eckhart, Maggie Gyllenhaal and Morgan Freeman. You can guarantee that any cast that Nolan puts together, it will make the film incredible.

Throughout the movie, as much as Christian Bale was great as Batman, I was totally stunned by Heath Ledger’s performance as The Joker. He and the character stole the show in my opinion, and it comes to me as no surprise to me that he had won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor and almost a complete sweep of over 20 (Posthumous) awards after he sadly passed in 2008.

heath-ledger-christian-bale-dark-knight-friends

Heath Ledger skate – boarding over Christian Bale on set during breaks…

The basic summary of the film was that a new villain had surfaced by the name of ‘the Joker’, and he was wreaking havoc on Gotham City with all these explosions and such. Bruce Wayne, whose alter ego is Batman was of course then out to save the town from this lunatic. As the film continues, you see the Batman and the Joker battling it out in pure style! Everything from massive explosions to truck flips!! My only regret now is not having gone to see it in the cinema, I am sure it was fantastic on the big screen.

What blows me away about Heath’s performance is that he was very convincing in the portrayal of this character and you know they are a good actor when you forget who they actually are. On reading into the filming, I am impressed that during editing (after Heath had passed away), nothing was actually needed to be done to the scenes that he is in, and no digital effects added. He was also allowed by Nolan to direct/film the kidnap videos by himself because he was so amazed by the first video shoot and improvisations.

the-dark-knight-heath-ledger-joker

Overall, I thought the film was fantastic and seriously exceeded my expectations. As a result, I want to see The Dark Knight Rises !!

One comment

  1. Who the hell is the bitch underneith? I thought it was pretty good considering I hate the film! Awesome work Swee Lee x

Leave a Reply

